Skip to main content

Special Education

Quicklinks

Finding information about learning differences, disabilities, and special education services can sometimes feel overwhelming.  We hope the following resources help you understand what types of special education services we offer, how to work with our department, and what your parental rights are.

 

Special Education Services Offered

Alameda Unified School District (AUSD) and the North Region SELPA provide a full continuum of services for students ages 0-22 who are eligible for special education and related services. Those services include (but are not limited to) access to:

  • General education classroom with specialized academic instruction
  • General education classroom with specialist services
  • General education classroom with related services
  • Special education classroom with specialized academic instruction
  • Instruction in settings other than classrooms with specialized academic instruction
  • Itinerant instruction in classrooms, learning centers and settings other than classrooms
  • Instruction in classrooms throughout the SELPA for individuals with exceptional needs who require intensive instruction and training
  • Instruction in the home, hospitals, or other institutions

For more information on the types of services we provide, please check our AUSD Special Education Services page.

Special Education Strategic Plan Group

In the spring of 2017, AUSD formed a committee to create a three- to five year plan for the delivery of special education services in AUSD. Based on recommendations from the Fiscal Crisis Management Assistance Team, the committee was comprised of parents, community members, general and special education teachers, specialists, classified staff, and administrators.

Meeting Presentations, Summaries, and final report.

extended school year (ESY) 2019

The Alameda Unified School District will provide Extended School Year school services for students with exceptional needs who have an IEP that require special education and related services in excess to the regular academic year. This service is noted in the student's IEP.

 

ESY will be located at Ruby Bridges Elementary (Pre K-5) and Wood Middle School (Gr. 6-12) starting June 24 through July 19, 2019 from 8:30 am to 12:30 pm M-F.

 

ESY administrators are Jill Drexel (jdrexel@alamedaunified.org) for Elementary and Michael Lee (milee@alamedaunified.org) for secondary. 

 

If you have any questions, please contact the Special Education Department at (510) 337-7075.

Special Education Contacts

Phone: (510) 337-7194

Fax: (510) 864-2309

 

Pamela Kazee

Director, Special Education

pkazee@alamedaunified.org 

(510) 337-7098 ext. 77098

 

Betty Lin

Program Coordinator, Elementary and autism programs

blin@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7033 ext. 77033

 

Mary Busby

Program Coordinator,  Secondary 

mbusby@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7084 ext. 77084

 

Jill Drexel

Program Manager, Preschool

jdrexel@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7128 ext. 77128

 

Gabriel Welcher

Program Manager, NPS

gwelcher@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7928 ext. 77928

 

Myra Santome-Elias

Data Compliance Administrator

melias@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7093 ext. 77093

 

Mary Hallford

Budget Analyst

mhallford@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7177

 

Christina Nieves

Office Assistant

cnieves@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7000 ext. 77075

 

Tara Donoghue

Behavior Specialist

tdonoghue@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7041 ext. 77041

 

Lisa Fox

Behavior Specialist

lfox@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7046 ext. 77046

 

Joan Ralph

Behavior Specialist

jralph@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7041 ext. 77041

 

Mary Grace Basco

Preschool Specialist

mgbasco@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7035 ext. 77035

 

Ingrid Ryan

Behavior Specialist

iryan@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7046 ext. 77046

 

Carrie Green-Zinn

School Psychologist

cgzinn@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7023 ext. 77023

 

Stefanie Cox

TSA - Special Education

scox@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7203 ext. 77203

 

Chandini Stanley

TSA - Special Education & Workability

cstanley@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7005 ext. 77005

 

Karyn Missaggia

Transition Services Specialist

kmissaggia@alamedaunified.org

(510) 337-7127 ext. 77127