Skip to main content

Graduation Requirements

Students are required to meet the following general requirements to earn an AUSD high school diploma:

  • Accumulation of a minimum of 230 credits
  • Attain a cumulative grade point average of not less than 1.75
  • Complete twenty (20) hours of community service work during the 9th through 12th grades

Academic Requirements:

 

English - A student must earn forty (40) credits (four years) in courses offered by the English Department under its regular sequential program of instruction.

 

Social Science - A student must earn thirty (30) credits (three years) of social science, including 10 credits in Modern World History, 10 credits in U.S. History, 5 credits in American Government and 5 credits in Economics.

 

Mathematics - A student must earn twenty (20) credits (two years) in mathematics.   

 

Science - A student must earn twenty (20) credits (two years) in science, including 10 credits in physical science and 10 credits in biological life science.

 

Foreign Language, Visual Performing Arts, CTE - A student must earn ten (10) credits (one year) in Foreign Language and ten (10) credits in Visual and Performing Arts.  1 year of Career Technical Education (CTE) may substitute for either the Foreign Language OR the Visual and Performing Arts requirement.

 

Physical Education - A student must earn twenty (20) credits (two years) in physical education.  Students are required to take PE in the Freshman year.

 

Current Life Issues - A student must earn five (5) credits (one semester) in Current Life Issues (taken either in the 9th or 10th grade year).

 

Remaining Credits are to come from elective courses or additional coursework within the above core subject areas.

 

A comparison chart of the AUSD graduation requirements and University of California 'a-g' requirements can be downloaded here.  Please also note the change in graduation requirements for the class of 2020 and beyond.  This change affects only the area of science.

 

Teaching and Learning Contacts

 

Steven Fong
Chief Academic Officer

(510) 337-7092
sfong@alamedaunified.org

 

Mary Hallford
Staff Secretary
(510) 337-7076 
mhallford@alamedaunified.org

 

Terri Elkin
Coordinator, Secondary Education
510-337-7113
telkin@alamedaunified.org

 

Shirley Clem, Ed.D.
Coordinator, Elementary Education
510-337-7154
sclem@alamedaunified.org

 

Carolyn Villa
Staff Secretary, Achievement & Assessment
510-337-7113
cvilla@alamedaunified.org

 

Adelita Martinez 
Coordinator, ELD 
(510) 337-7117
admartinez@alamedaunified.org

 

Laura Lino
Testing Specialist, ELD
(510) 337-7157
llino@alamedaunified.org

 

Felicia Vargas
CTE Pathway Specialist
(510) 337-7091

fvargas@alamedaunified.org

 

Janice Carroll
TSA, Instructional Technology
(510) 337-7000 ext. 7927

jcarroll@alamedaunified.org