Skip to main content

Teaching & Learning

Calendars

The Teaching & Learning department supports AUSD schools in providing a high-quality educational program for all students.  The work of Teaching and Learning is grounded in the district's Mission, Vision, and Guiding Principles.  In collaboration with other district departments, Teaching and Learning provides a wide range of professional development to site staff, facilitates site improvement planning, coordinates state/federal and local assessments, facilitates the selection and distribution of instructional materials, and coordinates the implementation of the wide range of districtwide programs and initiatives.  

 

As California transitions to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), and new English Language Development (ELD) standards, Teaching and Learning is working to transition district instructional materials, provide staff regular professional development, and support schools in the shift to new assessment systems.  In additional Teaching and Learning plays a primary role in the annual development and review of the district's Local Control and Accountability Plan (LCAP), the district improvement plan that has been implemented along with the state's new funding process, the Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF).

 

Teaching and Learning works collaboratively with other district departments including Special Education, Student Services, Technology Services, Human Resources, Food Services, and Business Services to coordinate support for AUSD schools.  The staff of Teaching and Learning are proud to be a part of this exciting time in public education and look forward to continuing the work of leading the AUSD community in supporting excellent and equitable educational outcomes for all students.

 

For questions regarding Teaching & Learning, please feel free to contact our office by phone (510) 337-7076, via email at mhallford@alamedaunified.org or in person at our district office located at 2060 Challenger Drive, Alameda, CA 94501.

Teaching and Learning Contacts

Steven Fong
Chief Academic Officer

(510) 337-7092
sfong@alamedaunified.org

 

Mary Hallford
Staff Secretary
(510) 337-7076 
mhallford@alamedaunified.org

 

Terri Elkin
Coordinator, Secondary Education
510-337-7119
telkin@alamedaunified.org

 

Shirley Clem, Ed.D.
Coordinator, Elementary Education
510-337-7154
sclem@alamedaunfied.org

 

Carolyn Villa
Staff Secretary, Achievement & Assessment
510-337-7113
cvilla@alamedaunified.org

 

Adelita Martinez 
Coordinator, ELD 
(510) 337-7117
admartinez@alamedaunified.org

 

Laura Lino
Testing Specialist, ELD
(510) 337-7157
llino@alamedaunified.org

 

Felicia Vargas
CTE Pathway Specialist
(510) 337-7091

fvargas@alamedaunified.org

 

Janice Carroll
TSA, Instructional Technology
(510) 337-7000 ext. 7927

jcarroll@alamedaunified.org